Ch-ch-ch-changes

For those of you stumbling across this blog a little confused and with feelings of déjà vu, let me try to explain. I first started a blog focusing on craft beer in and around Athens, Georgia about 6 months ago. After a little lapse in posts in the midst of a very busy end to my senior year of college, I decided the blog needed to adopt a new identity before continuing. While I will be fortunate enough to enjoy one more year in the town I have grown to love over the past four years, I realized that being tied to Athens by name would only make sense for so long. A year from now, I will find myself out of Athens and would have then had to abandon or alter my blog. Since my passion for craft beer won’t be dying out anytime soon, I decided that now was the best time to convert to a more universal and thus easily relocatable title.

The name change will also probably help eliminate any confusion between my blog (previously named Classic City Craft) and the Classic City Brew Fest, an annual Athens event highlighting craft beer, run for over 15 years by Owen Ogletree. There are numerous “Classic City” entities here, referencing the city’s nickname, but with its notoriety reaching far beyond Athens, I wanted to make sure Classic City Brew Fest’s name is not diluted or wrongly associated with my opinions.

Thus, the blog has a new name. Along with the name, why not a new domain name, look, and some tweaked features? Hopefully, all the changes are for the better. As always, I welcome your feedback and any opinions or help you may offer.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Ch-ch-ch-changes | Wort & Yeast -- Topsy.com

  2. newbbrewer

    I like the new name. But wort & yeast tend to strike up a conversation of homebrew. Are you getting more into the realm of DIY beer?

    • I do want to get into homebrewing, but that’s not the focus or anything. I think it’s more of a perspective thing. You can analyze the aroma, taste, mouthfeel, etc. forever but I don’t think most people can really appreciate a beer for all it’s worth without understanding what went into it. The further away we get from how beer’s made, the closer we seem to get to macrobrews that are hardly beer.

Leave a Reply

